Stanion has a long connection with stone quarrying and timber, being situated, as it is, in the heart of the Rockingham Forest. Stanion village school was constructed in 1840 and later became the village hall, until the later construction of a newer building in Brigstock Road. As well as the village church, a Methodist Chapel was build in 1907 in, not suprisingly, Chapel Lane. Number 25 High Street is the former rectory with its distinctive medieval doorway and outside the front door are the remains of what was once a village cross.

The below text has been published by kind permission of the author DS.

Station village has a rich and varied heritage and its role in the county has evolved over time to become the charming village we see today. Settlement began in Stanion as far back as the Bronze Age, and archaeologists have found evidence of Iron Ore production during the later Iron Age period. Iron production requires a sustainable amount of fuel obviously supplied by the ancient local woodlands, some of which we now call Rockingham Forest. During the transition from ‘Celtic’ tribes to Roman provincial life the inhabitants living at Stanion undoubtedly worshipped their gods at the Romano-British temple at Brigstock. The shrine was probably dedicated to the Roman god Mars, and possibly marked the borders of the native tribes of the Coritani and the Catuvellauni. Testimony to the accessibility of Stanion even during this ancient period comes from a 3km Roman road, which crosses the parishes of Stanion and Weldon. It is believed the route connected Weekley to the diversely populated Roman town and auxiliary fort at Great Casterton. During the Roman period the village boasted an elite Roman villa or farmstead, the remains of which have been excavated by archaeologists on the East side of the modern day village. The combination of deeply forested landscape and soil rich in iron and clean water provided by Harpers Brook undoubtedly made the area attractive to these settlers. The Rockingham Forest Trust records dense woodlands in the medieval period as early as 1086, evidence of this thriving local forest extends into the Renaissance as late as 1629.

During the Medieval period, Stanion had a growing pivotal role in pottery production supplying the local area, alongside its secondary distribution centre at Lyveden. The main evidence for this comes from excavations carried out by Northamptonshire Archaeology during 2002, prior to construction work at no. 2 Little Lane. This pottery industry supplied much of Northamptonshire and counties beyond. Despite extremely poor weather conditions the team discovered kiln furniture and managed to gather an ‘exceptional quantity’ of pottery totalling 600kg of fragments from over 200 vessels. These included glazed jugs, face pots, jars and bowls. There were two main phases of production from the second half of both the 14th and 15th century, and evidence suggests a tradition of production from the site spanning as early as the 13th century. The pots themselves were not wheel thrown until the later period into the early 16th century. The products themselves had limited decoration mostly glazed in browns and greens and painted with basic strips.

Taking pride of place along the conservation area of the High Street, the spire of St Peters is visible for miles around and houses a peel of 6 bells. The Church building is settled within a peaceful churchyard and dates from the late 13th century. During the 15thcentury the aisles and tower were added and further modifications were to come in the 18th century, including tiered aisle pews, double decker reading desks, and a triple-decker pulpit. The now Grade I listed building also houses an organ for accompaniment to the services along with a curious two metre long whale bone which fuelled stories that it was the rib of a giant cow that fed the village during lean times in history.

In 1870-72 Stanion appeared in the Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described by John Marius Wilson as having 1,850 acres and a population of 351, the manor belonged to the Earl of Cardigan and had a free school.

During the 20th century the area’s resources were used for quarrying to support a growing industrial role of the village. Having been a quarry for many years the name Stanion is said to derive from the words ‘Stone House’.  The village remained quite small until the 1950’s with the expansion of the Corby steel works. Since then the population has swollen to over 900 people with some 400 houses, many of which are stone and thatched cottages reflecting the tradition and character of this charming village.


Situated as it is, close to Corby and close to the main A43 and A14 roads, many new residents are finding it the ideal place to live. Only a few miles from major supermarkets in Corby and Kettering. The village now has 1 pub and a village hall which also has a licensed bar. There is also a Church of England primary school in the village. Secondary schools are available in Corby and Kettering.


The imposing tower of the 13th century church is a landmark visible for miles around the village, and a favourite haunt of nesting birds. Within the church is a wall painting, dating from the 15th century depicting a kneeling stag and unicorn. Also in the church is a unique, carved whalebone nearly 2metres long, which perhaps indicates some distant connection with the sea. Local legend has it, however, that the bone is actually the rib of a cow which was so enormous it was able to supply the whole village with milk, until local witches caused her death and burial at a place called ‘Cow Common’ on the main Corby to Kettering Road!